Congratulations to all our Awards of Excellence Winners!

Thank you to everyone who joined us for our 
Annual Meeting and Awards Luncheon 
Here are some highlights:
We were thrilled to have over 180 people in attendance at the Chesapeake Arts Center in Brooklyn Park, Anne Arundel County

We heard from CDN’s Board Chair Erin Karpewicz about CDN’s great accomplishments this year.
Speaker of the Maryland House of Delegates Michael Busch was our keynote speaker and he received CDN’s President’s Award
The Frederick County Affordable Housing Land Trust received CDN’s Innovation Award. This is the first Affordable Housing Land Trust in Maryland.

The Kentland/Palmer Park Transforming Neighborhoods Initiative (Prince George’s County) received CDN’s Collaboration Award for their work to stabilize neighborhoods collaborating with County government, nonprofits and businesses.
The Impact Award went to the Ocean City Development Corporation for its work in revitalizing historic downtown Ocean City (not the Board Walk!)
The College Park City-University Partnership Homeownership Program also received an impact award for its program to attract and retain residents in the College Park area.
The Lorraine Sheehan Memorial Advocacy Award went to United Workers for their leadership in collecting and processing over 18,577 signatures to add an Affordable Housing Trust Fund on the Baltimore City ballot, as part of the Housing for All Coalition.
Ken Strong received our Legacy Award honoring his career in community development, particularly in changing lives in Baltimore City through founding of the Bereavement Center, recognizing predatory lending early and sounding the alarm about it, and working to ensure homeowners homes were energy efficient, and helping increase homeownership. His public service has made a significant impact in Baltimore City.
CDN’s Executive Director Odette Ramos lead the discussion of CDN’s legislative agenda, which includes the Community Development Fund, more tools for eliminating blight statewide, and much more.